When

Thursday, April 25, 2024 (7:00 PM - 8:30 PM) (CDT)

Event Details

"Blomerth's fanciful and colorful illustrations offer a largely joyous overview of the couple's

work together, which Wasson continued to do for decades after Pavlovna's death in 1958." -The

New Yorker, Nov. 2021


Brian Blomerth first fused his singularly irreverent underground comix style with heavily-

researched history in 2019's Brian Blomerth's Bicycle Day, a Technicolor retelling of the

discovery of LSD. Now, the illustrator and graphic novelist continues his wild and woolly

excursions into the history of mind expansion with Mycelium Wassonii, an account of the lives

and trips of R. Gordon and Valentina Wasson, the pioneering scientist couple responsible for

popularizing the use of psychedelic mushrooms. A globetrotting vision of hallucinatory science

and religious mysticism with appearances by Life Magazine, the CIA, and the

Buddha, Mycelium Wassonii is a visual history and a love story as only Blomerth's Isograph pen

can render it.


Mycelium Wassonii by Brian Blomerth

NAMA Book Club topic for Virtual Book Club, April 25, 2024

Host: Eva Gordon

8 PM Eastern | 7PM Central | 6 PM Mountain | 5 PM Pacific


The link to the zoom meeting is provided after registration, the password is Mushroom.

Menu